Ak Dan Gwang Chil: Korean Shamanic Folk-Pop

Alice R. Manicur Assembly Hall, Lane University Center, Frostburg State University (17 November 2021)

There’s a flowering folk-roots revival in South Korea — but no band combines virtuosity, charisma, and pure energy like Ak Dan Gwang Chil. Three powerhouse singers and six virtuoso players combine for breakneck-speed roots-romps. – WFMU

With one foot in the world of tradition and another in glitzy upbeat pop, Ak Dan Gwang Chil (ADG7) is a multiple award-winning group featuring three powerhouse female folk singers and a rich repertoire inspired by Korea’s sacred, shamanic ritual music (gut) and beloved folk songs (minyo) of Hwanghae Province in the northern reaches of the Peninsula. Their powerful performances engage and immerse like no other, presenting the spiritual blessings and positive energy of traditional music in a thoroughly modern and often comical style.

ADG7 was organized in 2015, the year Korea commemorated its 70th anniversary of national liberation. By reconnecting with and reimaging shared Korean cultural roots, ADG7 expresses the true meaning of liberation and the desire for unification. The group’s recognitions include Best Group at the 2018 KBS Korean Traditional Music Awards and the Sori Frontier Award at the 2017 Jeongju International Sori Festival, plus recent performances at WOMEX (World Music Expo) 2019 and globalFEST 2020 as official artists, and upcoming shows as a grantee of the Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation touring roster.

Band Members: Kim Yak Dae (Daeguem), Lee Man Wol (Piri & Saenghwang), Grace Park (Ajaeng), Won Meon Dong Maru (Gayaguem), Chun Gung Dal (Percussion), Sunwoo Barabarabarabam (Percussion), Hong Ok (Singer), Myeong Wol (Singer), and Yoo Wol (Singer) … [+]

http://KEXP.ORG presents Ak Dan Gwang Chil (ADG7) (악단광칠) performing live in the KEXP studio. Recorded November 5, 2021.


  1. Yeong Jeong Geo Ri
  2. Hee Hee
  3. The Dance Of Lions
  4. Whatever
  5. Aucha

Kim Yak Dae – Daeguem
Lee Man Wol – Piri & Saenghwang
Grace Park – Ajaeng
Won Meon Dong Maru – Gayaguem
Chun Gung Dal – Percussion
Sunwoo Barabarabarabam – Percussion
Hong Ok – Vocals
Myeong Wol – Vocals
Yoo Wol – Vocals

Host: Darek Mazzone
Audio Engineers: Sae-rom Jung & Kevin Suggs
Mastering Engineer: Matt Ogaz
Cameras: Jim Beckmann, Alaia D’Alessandro, Scott Holpainen & Kendall Rock
Editor: Jim Beckmann



Deixe um comentário

Preencha os seus dados abaixo ou clique em um ícone para log in:

Logo do WordPress.com

Você está comentando utilizando sua conta WordPress.com. Sair /  Alterar )

Foto do Facebook

Você está comentando utilizando sua conta Facebook. Sair /  Alterar )

Conectando a %s