NOMEANSNO – Wrong [fvll albvm] (1989)

NoMeansNo was a Canadian punk rock band formed in Victoria, British Columbia and later relocated to Vancouver. They issued 11 albums, including a collaborative album with Jello Biafra, as well as numerous EPs and singles. Critic Martin Popoff described their music as “the mightiest merger between the hateful aggression of punk and the discipline of heavy metal.” Nomeansno’s distinct hardcore punk sound, complex instrumentation, and dark, “savagely intelligent” lyrics inspired subsequent musicians. They are often considered foundational in the punk jazz and post-hardcore movements, and have been cited as a formative influence on the math rock and emo genres.

Formed in 1979 by brothers Rob and John Wright, the group began as a two-piece punk band influenced by jazz and progressive rock. They self-released their debut Mama LP in 1982. Adding guitarist Andy Kerr the following year, the group signed with the Alternative Tentacles imprint and continued to expand their audience. Kerr departed in 1992 after five LPs with the band, and the group returned to its two-piece formation for the Why Do They Call Me Mr. Happy? album.

In 1989, the band issued their fourth album, Wrong, to wide critical acclaim. AllMusic wrote that “[t]he playing is incredibly skilled;” critic Martin Popoff in writing for The Collector’s Guide to Heavy Metal called Wrong the band’s best album and rated the album 10 out of 10 points.

  1. It’s Catching Up 0:00
  2. The Tower 3:28
  3. Brainless Wonder 8:40
  4. Tired of Waiting 10:11
  5. Stocktaking 12:00
  6. The End of All Things 15:05
  7. Big Dick 20:16
  8. Two Lips, Two Lungs and One Tongue 23:29
  9. Rags and Bones 25:16
  10. Oh No! Bruno! 30:20
  11. All Lies 33:25
  12. Life in Hell 39:49
  13. I Am Wrong 43:45

Bonus Tracks:

  1. State of Grace 50:45
  2. End of the World 56:13