My Turning Point: Mike Patton interview (2021)

The turning point in my musical career was meeting John Zorn. I didn’t know I was learning but I was learning, and it happened when he produced the first Mr. Bungle record (1991), when we first met him. He liked for whatever reason what I did and invited me to participate in a few of his projects. You know how prolific this guy is. It’s an honor to be asked to play with him or to collaborate with him, and he did that with me for whatever reason, I have no idea why, but it gave me more courage and more confidence in my voice as an instrument. I think pre-Zorn I was just a singer. He taught me how to hear the voice and hear music differently. A band like Fantômas would have never been possible without Zorn’s influence and what he taught me.

Mike Patton

Music journalist Steve Baltin talks with Mike Patton about the new album Tonic Immobility by Tomahawk, the ‘turning point’ moment of his career, his process, and the people he draws inspiration from.

My Turning Point Podcast | Interview with Mike Patton | March 29, 2021